Being convicted of drugged driving in Tennessee can have serious consequences. Under Tennessee law, a driver is deemed to be under the influence if they are impaired to an extent that their ability to safely operate a motor vehicle is affected.
If you have been arrested or charged with driving under the influence of drugs, our team of DUI lawyers at Herbert & Lux can provide you with strong legal defense.
Penalties for Drugged Driving in Tennessee
A driver can be convicted of drug DUI for driving or being in actual physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of an intoxicant, marijuana, controlled substance, controlled substance analog, drug, a substance affecting the central nervous system, or a combination thereof.
If convicted, the penalties will depend on the specific circumstances of the case, but generally, a DUI conviction can lead to fines, possible jail time, and license suspension, and other potential legal consequences associated with police finding marijuana in your system.
- For a first-time drugged driving offense, a person can face a fine of $350 to $1,500, jail time ranging from 48 hours to almost 12 months, and a one-year license suspension.
- A second DUI conviction within 20 years can result in 45 days to almost 12 months in jail, $600 to $3,500 in fines, and a two-year license suspension.
- A third DUI conviction within 20 years can lead to 120 days to almost 12 months in jail, $1,100 to $10,000 in fines, and a six-year license suspension.
Some offenders may be eligible for a restricted license to drive during the suspension period, but they must have an ignition interlock device installed in their car to obtain the license.
Contact Herbert & Lux for Legal Help
With Tennessee's complex DUI laws and the unique circumstances surrounding every case, it is essential to work with an experienced Nashville DUI attorney. An experienced attorney can offer guidance, support, and legal representation to help protect your rights and to help guide you through the legal process.
If you have been charged with drugged driving in Tennessee, reach out to the experienced attorneys at Hebert & Lux: (615) 878-5537. They can provide you with legal advice tailored to your case, explain how the law applies to you, and help you decide the best course of action. The guidance and support of a skilled DUI lawyer can help reduce the impact of the charges and ensure the best possible outcome for your case.