If you’ve been injured as the result of someone else’s negligence, you deserve justice. At Herbert & Lux Attorneys at Law, we are dedicated to fighting for the compensation you need to make a full recovery. If you’ve been injured in a motor vehicle accident or suffered any other personal injury, contact our dedicated team. We have recovered millions on behalf of injured victims and share hundreds of hours of trial experience.
Let our experienced legal team put together the strong and compelling case you need to get the justice you deserve. Call us at (615) 878-5537 for a free consultation. We work on a contingency-fee-basis, which means you pay nothing out of pocket unless we recover compensation for you.
Have You Been Injured in an Accident?
The legal team at Herbert & Lux can provide you with the representation you need to get what you deserve.
At Herbert & Lux, we’ve achieved positive outcomes for personal injury cases arising from all types of accidents, including:
- Car Accidents
- Truck Accidents
- Pedestrian Accidents
- Motorcycle Accidents
- Product Liability
- Workers’ Compensation
- Medical Malpractice
- Wrongful Death
What Compensation Can I Receive in an Injury Claim?
Once our attorneys have the evidence required to determine fault in your accident case, we will relentlessly pursue justice for you and secure you the compensation that you rightfully deserve.
You may be eligible to receive compensation for:
- Doctor visits and medical bills
- Loss of wages
- Loss of future earnings
- Treatment and rehabilitation costs
- Loss of companionship
- Funeral and burial costs
- Pain and suffering
- Temporary or permanent disability
Should I Accept an Insurance Offer?
If you’ve recently suffered an injury, do not settle for what your insurance company has offered. Your insurance company is focused on maintaining their bottom line, regardless of what kind of compensation you’re truly entitled to.
Speak with our dedicated and experienced team of personal injury attorneys before accepting any offers from an insurance team. We are often able to secure an amount that far exceeds the insurance company’s offer.
How long do I have to file an injury claim in Tennessee?
In Tennessee, your deadline for filing a personal injury claim (otherwise known as the "statute of limitations") is one year from the date of the accident. However, the following are exceptions:
- Injury Caused by Violation of State or Federal Statute: If someone caused your injury by violating state or federal law, the statute of limitations is extended to 3 years from the date of injury.
- Product Liability: If you were injured as a result of a defective or dangerous product, the statute of limitations is extended to 6 years. However, you must take legal action within 10 years of purchasing the product or within one year of the product's expiration, whichever time frame is shorter.
- Injuries to Minors: If the plaintiff was a minor at time of injury, the statute of limitations is extended to one year after the plaintiff reaches the age of majority (in Tennessee, 18 years old).
- Mental Impairment: If the plaintiff is deemed mentally impaired, the statute of limitations pauses until that person receives legal rights or a legal guardian, or is deemed mentally competent.
- Medical Malpractice: If you were injured as a result of medical malpractice, you have one year from the date the injury was discovered or should have reasonably been discovered. However, the total timeframe cannot exceed three years from the date of the event, unless professionals commit fraud to conceal information.
What is Tennessee's "shared fault" rule?
Tennessee's shared fault rule is a modified comparative fault system, which means that if a Tennessee court determines that the injured person is at least somewhat responsible for the accident, then their compensation will be reduced or even eliminated accordingly.
For example, if the court finds that you are 20% at fault for a car accident, then your award of $10,000 would be reduced by 20%, leaving you with $8,000. However, if you are deemed 50% or more at fault, then you won't be eligible to collect any compensation. This shared fault rule is mandatory in Tennessee. However, hiring an experienced personal injury lawyer will greatly improve your chances of receiving full and fair compensation.
Contact Us Today For a Free Consultation
If you or a loved one has been injured or has died as a result of the carelessness or negligence of another person or company, contact Herbert & Lux today. Victims of wrongdoing – or families who have lost a loved one due to negligence – deserve the right to hold those who are in the wrong accountable for their actions.
The attorneys of Herbert & Lux are standing by to provide you and your case with the expertise, care, and experience that you deserve. We can discuss the details of your case in a free consultation and provide you with the legal assistance you deserve today. Contact our firm online or call us at (615) 878-5537.