First DUI Arrest Lawyer in Nashville, Tennessee
A police officer may stop a motorist and administer a chemical test or a field sobriety test if the officer suspects the driver is intoxicated. Having to submit to a test for DUI causes a great deal of fear and panic for the individual involved. This is a legitimate cause for concern because it is a serious offense and therefore one of the most zealously pursued in the legal system. It is important that anyone who has been charged with this offense secure the services of a knowledgeable and dedicated attorney.
Anyone facing punishment for driving under the influence is naturally anxious about the outcome. It is critical that they consult with a qualified lawyer to adequately assess the situation.
Attorneys Eddie Herbert and Ron Lux are familiar with and experienced in the most effective ways to navigate the legal system. Give one of them a call to arrange an appointment to discuss the charges. This initial consultation is free and will go a long way towards relieving your concerns. Securing the services of a competent attorney is the most important thing you can do in the initial phases of your legal defense. They effectively represent clients in the entire Greater Nashville and Middle Tennessee area.
Information About Tennessee Penalties for First time DWI Convictions Information on Tennessee Penalties for First Time DWI Convictions
- Laws Concerning a First Time DWI in Tennessee
- Chemical Testing and Implied Consent According to Tennessee Statutes
- Penalties for a First DWI Conviction in Nashville
Laws Regarding a First DWI in Tennessee
Any individual found to be intoxicated while in control of a motor vehicle in a public place can be charged with DWI. Under Tennessee statue, “intoxication” is defined as being unable to control your mental or physical faculties in a normal way as a result of the consumption of drugs, alcohol, or any combination of the two, or having a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or higher.
Chemical Testing and Implied Consent According to Tennessee Statute
Anytime a police officer is suspicious that a motorist is operating a vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol, the officer will usually request the individual submit to a chemical test to assess the driver’s level of impairment.
Most commonly, the tests used are a breath test or a blood draw.
Law enforcement has the legal right to administer these tests under the doctrine of Implied Consent. This law states that any individual who assumes the privilege of operating a motor vehicle in Tennessee, has already implicitly given his/her consent to submit to a chemical test when requested to do so by a law enforcement officer for the express purpose of determining the operator’s level of sobriety.
If the results of the test indicate the driver has a blood alcohol content of .08 or higher, s/he will automatically be arrested for driving while intoxicated. If the motorist refuses to submit to a chemical test, s/he could still be arrested for DUI, and faces having their driver’s license suspended for a period of 1 year.
Penalties for a First DUI Conviction in Tennessee
A first-time offense for DUI is a Class A misdemeanor and carries mandatory minimum punishments including a $350 fine, suspension of your license for a year, and 48 hours in jail. You would also be placed on probation for up to a year, and be required to attend certain classes, programs and/or participate in community service work.
Don’t run the risk of being convicted with a DUI in Nashville. Hire Eddie Herbert or Ron Lux today to help you protect your freedoms and lessen your sentence. We can help turn this unfortunate occurrence into a learning experience that still allows you to drive and keeps you out of jail